Town of Amherst Planning Commission Minutes March 2, 2022

A meeting of the Town of Amherst Planning Commission was called to order by Chairperson June Driskill on March 2, 2022, at 7:00 P.M. in the Council Chambers of Town Hall at 174 S. Main Street.

It was noted that a quorum was present as indicated below:

P	June Driskill	P	Janice N. Wheaton
P	William Jones	P	John Vandervelde
P	Anne Webster Day	P	Nathaniel Holden Chase
A	Clifford Hart		

Town Manager Sara McGuffin and Clerk of Council Vicki Hunt, in her capacity as Secretary to the Commission, were present.

The Chair opened the floor for citizen comments.

Brooke Vandervelde, Amherst, VA, came forward praising the town's walkability, and to inquire about the proper way to report that a person found sleeping inside a public building may need shelter or other help.

There being no one else present to speak; no comments were made.

Mr. Chase made a motion that was seconded by Ms. Day to approve the minutes of the February 2, 2022, meeting.

There being no discussion, the motion to approve the February 2, 2022, minutes carried 6-0 according to the following:

June Driskill	Aye	Anne Webster Day	Aye
Janice Wheaton	Aye	John Vandervelde	Aye
William Jones	Aye	Nathaniel Holden Chase	Aye
Clifford Hart	Absent		

Capital Improvement Program FY22-23

The Chair opened a duly advertised public hearing at 7:03 P.M., on the Town of Amherst FY22-23 Capital Improvement Program proposal that identifies acquisition, construction and improvement of town facilities, and acquisition of capital equipment, copies of which were distributed to the Commissioners.

There being no one present who wished to speak on the matter, the public hearing was closed at 7:20 PM.

After a report by Town Manager McGuffin, Mr. Vandervelde made a motion that was seconded by Ms. Wheaton to recommend that Town Council approve the Town of Amherst FY22-23 Capital Improvement Program proposal, as presented and recommended by staff.

After discussion, the motion carried 6-0 according to the following:

June Driskill	Aye	Anne Webster Day Aye
Janice Wheaton	Aye	John Vandervelde Aye
William Jones	Aye	Nathaniel Holden Chase Aye
Clifford Hart	Absent	

There being no further business, the meeting adjourned at 7:23 PM.

		June Driskill, Chairperson
Attest:		
	Secretary	